Football Girl Cookies

It was about this time of year, 8 years ago (yikes!) that I would come over to my good friend Reese’s house every Thursday to decorate his room and give him baked goods for the varsity high school football game the next day. I was his “football girl,” which means I go through this routine for the fall semester in exchange for a t-shirt with his last name & football number that I wore on Fridays for games. The guys get the better half of this deal if you ask me (although I do still have my t-shirt and I did get to go to the football banquet once …)

In honor of Reese’s homecoming from Norway this week, I knew I had to do something special and I knew exactly what to do. His favorite treat that I brought him during high school was appropriately named after him. It’s a chocolate chip cookie, baked in a mini muffin tin, with a small peanut butter cup candy pushed in the middle. All the other football guys were jealous. Admittedly, I did not make these cookies from scratch; I used cookie dough in a package. But for this occasion I thought it would be fun to go all out, and my friend Ashley was very kind to lend me her mom’s famous chocolate chip cookie recipe. And let me tell you, it is famous for a reason!

Football Girl Cookies, makes 6 dozen cookies

  • 2 cups cake flour
  • 1 2/3 cups bread flower
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 2 1/1 sticks unsalted butter
  • 1 1/4 cups light brown sugar
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 bag of semisweet chocolate chips
  • 2 bags of small peanut butter cup candy

Mix the flours, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a bowl. In a mixer with a paddle attachment (or in bowl, using your hands – if you don’t have a mixer, like me) mix together the butter and sugars until well mixed. Add one egg at a time, until fully incorporated and then add the vanilla. Finally add the dry ingredients, a little bit at a time, until you have a nice doughy ball. Toss in the chocolate chips and mix them in. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 24 hours*.

When the dough is ready, get a mini muffin pan and a spoon. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Fill each space 1/2 full of cookie dough. This is important, because if you put too much in you will end up with mushy cookies with muffin tops that fall apart easily. Using your thumb, press into the dough to make a space for the peanut butter cup in the middle. Place the peanut butter cups in each space. Bake in the 0ven for 10-12 minutes.

Let the cookies cool for at least 10 minutes in the muffin pan before transferring to a cooling rack. If the cookies are still hot it is difficult to get the cookies out without breaking them because of the peanut butter cup. So be patient! If they do fall apart, don’t worry they still taste just as good. I’m not going to lie, it’s been a while since I’ve made these, and on my first batch I put a bit too much cookie dough in each space. So I had a quite a few “free-form” cookies. Luckily my rule of thumb is I get to eat all the cookies that don’t look as pretty. Coincidentally my stomach was pretty full …

*I didn’t have 24 hours to let the dough refrigerate, so I just put them in overnight. I don’t think it was a problem, seeing as how it took less than 24 hours for all those cookies to be eaten.

3 thoughts on “Football Girl Cookies

  1. 2 things (but only because I am ALWAYS on the hunt for a good cookie recipe and appreciate you posting!!)
    1. What’s a bread flower? Peonies? Poppies? Sunflowers? har har har just keeeding. love you! šŸ˜‰

    and

    2. Did you mean 2 and 1/2 sticks of butter?? I’m not sure if 2 and 1/1 sticks is really 3. ;-P I’m currently making them in my kitchen as I type this! Hope you rocked that L-SAT!

  2. Made these…and YUM! Thanks for sharing. Making the Fall Medley Orzo tonight for dinner. Oh, I posted the cookies on my blog and linked back to you. Hope you don’t mind.

Leave a Reply

