Fried Pickles (and a Burger)

Fall is finally here! The last three days Dallas has had the perfect weather. And since there’s no time like the present, I seized the day and headed to the Fair. Whenever I walk up to Big Tex I always feel like breaking into a rendition of Rodgers & Hammerstein. “Our state fair is a great state fair” … I digress. I just love it so much. The Midway, the TX/OU game (and not the other way around), the pig races, and of course, THE FOOD. Wait, let me rephrase, THE FRIED FOOD.

So I got inspired (and hungry) and decided to make my favorite fried food – pickles! And what better to go with fried pickles than a delicious hamburger. I know there are some people out there thinking, “What happened to the ‘healthy’ food. First cookies, now this?” And all I can say in my defense is, if I had to pick my last meal it would be a burger. There’s just nothing better. Except fried pickles …

Fried Pickles

  • 1/2 jar of bread & butter pickle slices
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 tablespoon paprika
  • 1 tablespoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cayenne pepper
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1 1/8 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup corn meal
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup vegetable oil for frying
  • Ranch dressing for dipping*

Preheat oil in a pot (I used a dutch oven). In a medium bowl, combine the eggs, 1/8 cup of the flour, and the buttermilk. In a small bowl mix the garlic powder, paprika, salt, black pepper, cayenne pepper, and sugar. Reserve a tablespoon of the mix for the hamburgers. In a separate bowl combine the remaining flour, cornmeal, and seasoning. Drain the pickles. Dip them in the egg mixture, then dredge them in the flour mixture. Shake off any excess flour and fry ’em up! Wait until they turn golden brown and remove with a slotted spoon. Drain the pickles on paper towels. Serve with ranch dressing and you are good to go.

*If you have time, make your own ranch dressing with a spice packet, milk, and mayo. Yes, I said it, mayonnaise. One of the only times I will touch that stuff.

Hamburgers, Serves 2

  • 1/2 lb lean ground sirloin
  • 2 cheddar cheese slices
  • 2 leafs of lettuce
  • 2 tomato slices
  • 1/4 red onion, thinly sliced
  • Buttermilk buns
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • Mustard

Heat up a grill or grill pan. Mix in the tablespoon of seasoning with the meat. Make two patties and put them on the grill for about 5 minutes on each side. Right before you take them off the grill put a slice of cheese on each patty and let it melt. Meanwhile melt the butter on a pan with a scrap of onion to give it a little flavor. Toast the buns in the pan, about a minute each side. Now assemble your burger to your liking, but please hold the mayo!

One Comment Add yours

  1. bet365 says:

    hello!This was a really quality theme!
    I come from roma, I was luck to search your topic in bing
    Also I obtain a lot in your website really thanks very much i will come again

Leave a Reply

