Smart Food

I know, I know, I should be studying. I am taking the LSAT tomorrow (eek!) in hopes of going to law school next fall, and I have been studying for 2 months now. I actually started this blog the week I started a review class. I guess I was looking for a distraction, not that it is difficult to find one. But I justified this cooking break by making two recipes that will (fingers crossed) help me on my test. Let me put that in logical reasoning terms: if Carrie eats a delicious salmon and spinach recipe, then she will make a 180 on the LSAT (the contra positive of course being: if Carrie does not make a 180 on the LSAT, she did not eat a delicious salmon or spinach recipe). Ok, that might be a stretch, but law school people know what I am talking about. Did I mention I can’t wait to stop thinking in those terms?

You may be wondering why I think these salmon and spinach dishes may help me on my test. Well it just so happens that they are smart foods. Salmon can help with “learning acquisition and memory performance” while spinach, besides making you strong to the fin-ich, is full of antioxidants. The spinach recipe is another successful creation by Ashley’s mom and the salmon recipe is adapted from Gourmet. I don’t know why it is, but it seems that I along with many others are tired of salmon. Maybe we all had the same recipe for too many dinners in a row. However, this recipe is sure to remind you of how good salmon can be. Also, be sure to note that wine is included on the list of smart foods!

Cedar Plank Salmon, serves 2

  • 1 (1 lb) salmon fillet with the skin
  • 1 tablespoon grainy mustard
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon minced rosemary
  • 1/2 tablespoon grated lemon zest
  • 1 Cedar plank

Soak the cedar plank in water for 2 hours. Prepare the grill (Here is a helpful explanation for those like me who don’t know where to start with a grill. Also this explains how to cook the salmon without a cedar plank if you want to skip that step). In a small bowl combine the mustard, honey, rosemary, and lemon zest. Place the salmon on the plank, skin side down, and spread the mixture on top. Let the salmon sit for 15 minutes at room temperature. Grill for 13-15 minutes with the lid down. The salmon should be just cooked through and have browned edges. I put it in the broiler for a minute afterward just to crisp up the top and edges a little bit. But the grill I used did not have vents, so that might make a difference.

Spinach Soufflé, serves 2

  • 6 ounces spinach
  • 1 large clove of garlic
  • 1 green onion, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup part-skim ricotta cheese
  • 3 tablespoons finely grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 3-4 dashes cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • Fresh ground pepper

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Coat 2 small ramekins with butter or spray with Pam. Using a food processor, finely chop the spinach (you could probably use frozen spinach if you want to skip this step). In a medium mixing bowl combine the spinach and all the remaining ingredients and mix well. Divide the mixture evenly between the two ramekins and bake in the oven for 25 minutes. After the mixture has set, remove the ramekins from the oven and let them sit for at least 5 minutes. Run a small knife around the edges of the ramekin to help loosen the spinach and turn over onto a plate. Top the spinach with extra Parmesan cheese, if desired (which I always do). Side note: your kitchen will smell incredible while this is baking, and you will see why when you eat it!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Adele says:

    Carrie,
    San Diego…what fun. Post pics. Law school…WOW.
    I love all of your recipes. I want to make them all.
    Love from us in Houston.
    Adele

Leave a Reply

