Pulled Pork Tacos

This post is dedicated to my good friend Ivey, who is the first person to request a recipe on the blog. She asked if I knew any good slow cook recipes, and it just so happens that this is the only one I know. Pulled pork tacos are probably one of my favorite meals and I am excited to share it because I haven’t made it in a long time. This recipe was one of my first attempts at cooking while I was in college. It’s easy and gets better every time I eat it.

Slow cook meals are great for people with busy schedules, whether you are in school, working, or have 3 of the cutest kids in the world. Since I only know how to make this dish I thought it would be fun to have people share their favorite recipes. So if you are reading this and know of a fabulous slow cook dinner please post a comment or email it to me. I will pick one entry and blog about it next week. Please submit it by Sunday October 17th, so I can put the ingredients on my grocery list for Monday. Happy cooking!

Pulled Pork Tacos, serves 3                                                                                               Adapted from Real Simple

  • 1 1/2 lbs boneless pork shoulder
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 cup apricot reserves
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded & sliced
  • 1/2 red onion, roughly chopped
  • Flour tortillas
  • 1/4 cup cilantro leaves
  • 1 lime, cut into wedges
  • 1/2 cup queso fresco, crumbled

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees. Place 3 large sheets of heavy duty aluminum foil on the counter, one top of the other, like a cross. In a small bowl mix together the salt, pepper and cumin. Place the pork in the middle of the foil and season with the mixture. Using a spoon, spread the apricot reserves all over the pork. Wrap the pork with the foil and be sure to crimp together the edges tightly. Otherwise the delicious juice that makes the pork so tender will leak out into the pan. Place the pork into a baking dish and roast for 4 hours. Let it cool before opening the foil. Carefully transfer pork and juices to a bowl and shred with a fork, mixing the meat, veggies, and juice. Serve on top of warm tortillas with cilantro, cheese, and a squeeze of lime.

3 thoughts on “Pulled Pork Tacos

  1. Hi Carrie!!

    I have 2 that I like – Pot Roast and Chicken tacos.

    The pot roast is in frequent rotation currently.

    2.5 lb. chuck roast
    packet ranch dressing mix
    packet italian dressing mix
    packet brown gravy mix
    packet french onion soup mix
    1/2 cup water
    carrots, sweet onion, new potatoes – whatever veggies you want to throw in

    Mix the first 3 mixes with the water to combine. Place the roast in the bottom of the crock pot, pour some of the water mixture on top of the roast and flip to cover. Add the veggies, the rest of the water mixture, and veggies on top. Cook for 7 hours on high. (The gravy is great on mashed potatoes if you don’t add the new potatoes to the crock pot!)

    Chicken Tacos:
    4ish frozen chicken breast
    1 can of Ro-Tel
    1 packet chicken taco seasoning

    That’s it on this one! Cook on high until chicken easily shreds with 2 forks, on high for around 4 hours or low for about 7. I like to use this chicken and make a chipotle type meal with corn, cilantro lime basmati rice, sour cream, cheese, and guacamole. Yum!

    I hope you are doing well! Good luck with law school applications – isn’t it fun to be indecisive on career choices! I’m in nursing school right now and love it, but don’t love the drive from Waco to Dallas!

  2. Yum. Quick question–how do you get side-by-side photos? Do you make a collage/storyboard using Photoshop, or is there a way to do it on wordpress?
    Anyway, look fabulous!

    • Hi Jenna, thanks for the comments. I’ve been having fun looking at your blog as well 🙂 I put the pictures side by side in Photoshop. Go to file, new, and enter in the dimensions of your images combined plus a little space in between. I crop all my pictures at 150 DPI, so if I have two 4×5 images I will create a new document with a white background that is 4 inches by 11 inches at 150 DPI. Then just drag your images into the new document. Each image will create a new layer, so when you are done adjusting the pictures just flatten it. Hope that helps, let me know if you have any questions!

Leave a Reply

