Snickerdoodles

This is serious. I finally got my grandmother’s famous recipe for snickerdoodles. What is it about these cookies that is so amazing? As I type I can hear Linda Richman in the back of my mind, “A snickerdoodle is neither a snicker, nor a doodle. Discuss.” The ingredients are simple enough, but something about these cookies is like a little bit of heaven. Maybe it’s because I associate them with memories of getting cookies in the mail at camp and sneaking into the kitchen in the middle of the night to take the last cookie at Grandmommy’s house. Of course I still claim it was Aunt Susie or Cousin Will who ate them …

The only problem with these cookies is if they are within my reach they mysteriously disappear rather quickly. So since last weekend was Halloween and I was out and about “not being a witch“, I decided to package them up and deliver them to my neighbors’ kids earlier in the day. But let’s get real. We all know that parents get first dibs on the treats. My plastic pumpkin was always about 1/4 as full the morning after falling into a sugar induced coma. I still can’t leave Twizzlers laying around when my dad is anywhere near. Hopefully some of these cookies made it to the kids – I know I kept a few for myself!

Snickerdoodles, makes 2 1/2 dozen cookies

  • 1 stick of unsalted butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup of granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon

Whip the butter, egg, sugar, and vanilla together in a medium bowl. In a separate bowl sift the flour, baking soda, cream of tartar, and salt. Combine the two mixtures, cover, and refrigerate until cold. The dough can be left in the freezer for 2-3 days. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. In a small bowl combine the cinnamon and sugar. Scoop out one tablespoon of the cookie dough at a time and roll it in the sugar mixture. Place them on an un-greased cookie sheet, 1-2 inches apart. Bake for 10 minutes or until lightly golden brown. Cool on a rack and try not to eat them all at once!

2 thoughts on “Snickerdoodles

  1. Pingback: Pizza Dough | Cucina di Carrie

Leave a Reply

