Cranberry Sauce

Looking at some of my favorite food blogs I am impressed by how many Thanksgiving recipes have been posted. I am excited to try a new spin on pumpkin pie with this cheesecake, and I will have to try very hard not to eat this stuffing before it is time to eat. But I have to say for the most part I am content to leave the rest of the meal to the experts, AKA my parents. One of the joys of being a single twenty-something year old is there is no pressure when it comes to cooking the bird, which by the way, scares me to death. Anything I bring to the table is just a bonus. This recipe is perfect if you want to bring something that is easy to make and will have everyone going back for seconds.

Mimi introduced me to this recipe when she and my dad got married, and it has been a Thanksgiving staple ever since. Even my dad, who is very adamant about having the canned cranberry mold every year, has to admit that this cranberry sauce is “pretty good” (my dad’s favorite phrase for anything he is impressed by). Not only is this sauce easy and delicious, but it is fun to make. If you haven’t ever popped cranberries before, it is a highly satisfying experience similar to popping bubble wrap. Did I mention I’m not ready to be a grown up yet?

Cranberry Sauce, makes enough for a big family!

  • 1 lb bag of cranberries
  • 4 Winesap apples, diced with the skin on
  • 2 oranges, peeled and cut into small pieces
  • 1 1/2 cups of water
  • 1 1/2 cups of sugar

Rinse the cranberries. Put the water, sugar, apples, and oranges in a big pot. Bring the water to a boil and add the cranberries. Turn the heat down to medium-low and stir occasionally for 5 minutes. Using a fork, press the cranberries against the side of the pot until they pop. You don’t have to pop all the cranberries, but it is addicting. Cook for another 5-10 minutes or until the sauce is thick. That’s it! I told you it was easy. Be sure to eat with turkey and stuffing (my favorite part). Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

