Chocolate Chip Cake

Ok, so this is not the cake I am going to tell you how to make. I wish I knew how to make a mint chocolate-chip ice cream cake, because it is my all time favorite; but alas I do not. Thankfully my parents picked this up for my birthday, and I had a few other treats to go along with it that I feel I must share. I had a 1960’s potluck, dress up party (kinda like a Mad Men party, except I hadn’t watched the show until 2 days ago … Don Draper, I love you). Ashley M. helped me make pigs in a blanket with my dad’s favorite yellow mustard and currant jelly dip (think sweet & sour sauce); Ashley L. made the most fabulous ambrosia salad; Beth brought her family’s famous grasshopper pie, which we ate so fast I forgot to take a picture; we had cheese fondue with veggies and bread and oh, did I mention that cocktails were involved?

When I told my parents I wanted to have this party they graciously offered to host at their place and my dad accepted the job as bartender. I thought we would have 3-4 different drinks to choose from, but instead Mimi bought out the entire liquor store and printed a menu of at least 20 recipes for classic cocktails. All I have to say is, if you haven’t tried a Brandy Alexander before, you haven’t lived. You can find recipes for everything from a Martini to a Sloe Gin Fizz here at AMC’s Mad Men website.

I knew I wanted to make my sister Betsy’s chocolate chip cake for the party as well, so to make it more groovy I baked it in a bundt pan. I mean, what 1960’s party is complete without a bundt? None I say! If you don’t have one around a regular spring-form pan will do just well. If you use a spring-form pan, just put the cinnamon-sugar crumbles on top of the cake. Not only is this the perfect cake for a birthday, but if you are lucky enough to have leftovers it is the most satisfying breakfast as well. Because when it’s your birthday, you deserve cake for breakfast, darn it.

Chocolate Chip Cake, serves 8-10

  • 8 oz. cream cheese
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar plus 1/2 cup for topping
  • 1 stick unsalted butter plus 1/2 stick for topping
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups cake flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 package semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • Powdered sugar

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a mixer cream butter, cream cheese, and sugar. Add the eggs. In a medium bowl sift dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, baking soda, & salt) and add to the mixer, alternating with milk, until smooth. Next add vanilla and chocolate chips and mix briefly. Meanwhile mix remaining sugar, butter, and cinnamon in a small bowl until crumb like. Butter the bundt or spring-form pan. If using a bundt pan, sprinkle half of the crumbs in the bottom (or top, however you look at it). Pour in the mixture and sprinkle the rest of the crumbs on top. If using a spring-form pan, sprinkle all the crumbs on top of the mixture. Bake for 1 hour and let cool for at least 10 minutes. Sift powdered sugar on top and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

