Best Guacamole

I don’t know what you’ve heard, but I have the best guacamole recipe that I have been waiting to share. It seems silly to write a recipe for something so simple, but after last week’s science project of converting units of measurement I thought something more forgiving would be a nice change. I think the two keys to success for great guacamole are 1) fresh ingredients and 2) the order in which you put everything together. Oh and good tortilla chips are important too. So enough chit-chat, let’s go through this together …

With a large sharp knife cut 2 large hass avocados in half, lengthwise.

Holding the avocado half with the pit in one hand, carefully tap the blade of the knife in the pit enough that it is wedged in. Twist the avocado around the seed to free it.

Score the avocado into squares and scoop into a small bowl using a spoon.

Slice 2 serrano peppers in half. Seed, de-vein and cut them into small pieces. Grab a handful of cilantro and roughly chop it up. Then finely dice 1/2 red onion. You don’t have to use all of it, but I like having some extra to throw in. In a separate bowl combine the peppers, cilantro, and onion. Squeeze the juice of half a lime in the mix and add a pinch of coarse salt. Using a fork mash the ingredients together. This is my secret step (not so secret anymore I guess) and it really gives the guacamole a flavor boost.

Add the avocado and mix together (I like leaving it a little chunky). Cut a handful of cherry tomatoes into fourths and mix in.

Season to taste with salt and extra lime juice. This makes approximately 3-4 servings, unless there is a guacamole hog around; and let’s get real, there always is and it’s usually me. So double the recipe if you need to and make sure to get your fair share (I always take my time “testing” it to make sure it’s just right). If you happen to have leftovers, I have found the best way to keep guacamole is to put a reserved avocado pit in the dip, squeeze some lime juice on top, and press a layer of Saran Wrap over the surface so air doesn’t reach it.

Even though I think the amount of ingredients is somewhat subjective, here’s a list for those of you who are still tightly holding on to your cup and teaspoon:

  • 2 large hass avocados
  • 2 Serrano peppers, seeded and deveined
  • 1/2 red onion, finley diced
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, finely chopped
  • 1 lime
  • 1/2 cup cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • salt to taste
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Shannon says:

    Carrie, I hope you had a very successful and fun trip up here this weekend, it was great to spend some time with you at dinner on Friday! I’m thoroughly enjoying exploring your blog and will have to try some of these recipes out. Since we both obviously have an obsession with guacamole, I thought I’d tell you a fun fact: I have been told that leaving the avocado seeds in with the guacamole helps it to stay green longer… I’ve been meaning to test this out…. it just never stays uneaten long enough!

Leave a Reply

