Pizza Dough

It finally happened. I … got … a … Kitchen Aid mixer! Look at it – isn’t it beautiful? Ever since I was a little girl I wanted a white Kitchen Aid mixer (if you look at my Snickerdoodle post you will see my Grandmother has one too). The Beatles said, “money can’t buy you love,” but can a kitchen appliance?

As I thought about recipes to try that I can make with a mixer, I knew I wanted to start with pizza dough. There’s just nothing like pizza made from scratch. It always intimidated me, but it really is so easy to make. And the final product … wow. All I can say is I’m never going to back to store bought pizza.

Since pizza dough is a staple everyone should know how to make (and because I am running out of time before I head out of town to visit a few schools) this recipe will stand alone today. There is more to come, but you don’t have to wait to make your own creation. Please forgive the lack of food pictures (or rather the excess of gloating). Actually, just please ignore this last picture. I know the dough looks a little bit like the brain. And with that I’ll just say, “We must prepare for tomorrow night.” “Why,” you may ask, “What are we going to do tomorrow night?” To which I answer, “The same thing we try to do every night, Pinky – try to take over the world!” … er, and make pizza. Stay tuned for sauce & toppings …

Pizza Dough, makes 2 medium pies

  • 1 package active dry yeast
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

In a small bowl add 1/4 cup of the warm water and honey. Stir together and dissolve the yeast in the mixture. It should start to bubble in about 5 minutes. Combine the flour and salt in a mixer with the dough hook attachment. Add the oil, yeast mixture, and remaining 3/4 cup of warm water. Mix on low speed until the dough forms a ball and comes cleanly off the sides of the bowl. Remove the dough and on a clean counter-top knead the dough for 2-3 minutes. Set in a warm spot and cover with a clean, damp towel. Let the dough rise for about 30 minutes. Divide the dough into 2 parts and knead each ball until smooth and firm. Cover again for 15-20 minutes. At this point you can make a pizza or wrap the dough in plastic to refrigerate for 2-3 days.

One thought on “Pizza Dough

  1. Pingback: Pizza Quattro Stagioni | Cucina di Carrie

Leave a Reply

