Curry Chicken Salad

The last time I posted a recipe Spring was just beginning. Now it already feels like Summer in Dallas. This could be because we really only have two seasons here (hot or cold). Or maybe it’s because I haven’t written anything in a while … Either way, I’m back! I took a lot of trips, saw a lot of schools, and I am a little closer to deciding where I will end up next year. In the meantime, I heard there is a wedding coming up. I think it has something to do with royalty, I’m not sure. And by “I’m not sure” I really mean, I’d have to be living under a rock to have not heard about it.

It seems like everyone is preparing for the big day. I should have waited to make a pizza for this special occasion, but Papa John’s beat me to that. Instead I am going to make curry chicken salad, also known as Coronation Chicken, which was made for Queen Elizabeth’s coronation in 1953. To be honest, the first time I tried this recipe I had no idea it had anything to do with the Brits. I just wanted to make it again because it’s delicious. But since bloggers are all about themes, I thought what the heck; This one’s for Will and Kate.

Curry Chicken Salad, adapted from Ina Garten

  • 3 split chicken breasts, bone in and skin on
  • Olive oil
  • Kosher salt & pepper
  • 3/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 3 tablespoons dry white wine
  • 1/8 cup chutney (like Major Grey’s)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons curry powder
  • 1 celery stalked, diced
  • 1 scallion, chopped
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup whole roasted, salted cashews

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Place the chicken on a pan and rub the skin with olive oil. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast the chicken for 30-40 minutes and set it aside. Once it is cool enough to handle, discard the skin and remove the meat from the bones. Cut the chicken into bite size pieces and place in a medium bowl. In a food processor combine the mayonnaise, wine, chutney, curry powder, and 1/2 teaspoon salt. Process until smooth and add the dressing to the chicken. Mix in the celery, scallions, and raisins. If you have time (let’s say around 4 a.m. if you are watching the nuptials) refrigerate the salad for a couple of hours to really bring out the flavor. When you are ready to eat, add the cashews and serve at room temperature. This is great in a sandwich or by itself. I added a little watercress to my sandwich. Makes 4-5 servings.

2 thoughts on “Curry Chicken Salad

  1. a few things:

    1) Welcome back!! Can’t wait to hear updates on schools…I promise I’ll stop trying to talk you out of it…

    2) How sweet of you to refer to my wedding as “royal!” We certainly agree.

    3) That looks delicious. I love the addition of roasted, salted cashews to a chicken salad. Perfect balance of flavors with the raisins and chutney. Yum.

  2. Pingback: No Mayo Coleslaw | Cucina di Carrie

Leave a Reply

