No Mayo Coleslaw

If you know me well, or if you have ever watched me eat coleslaw, you know that I have an unreasonable totally legitimate fear of mayonnaise. I have tried to like it, and sometimes I can use a little of it and pretend it’s not there. Coleslaw is one of those dishes that, depending on the cook, can have a little mayo and be tolerable. Or it can have so much mayo that all I see is a monster that is going to make me eat a whole jar of itself. I imagine it looks something like this…. Didn’t know I could be so artsy, huh? Well get ready for more Photoshop fun, because I am going to show you all of the main ingredients in my favorite coleslaw so there is no confusion about mayonnaise being involved:

All that’s missing is olive oil, red wine vinegar, a little salt & pepper, and some Italian spices if you’re feeling sassy. If you are lucky enough to have a Zoës Kitchen in your neighborhood, you may recognize that their slaw was my inspiration. I also used the coleslaw in a grilled chicken pita sandwich, similar to one they make. The slaw is certainly good enough by itself – in fact as I sit at my computer typing I am still snacking on leftovers. Again this is another easy recipe and it is perfect to bring as a side to a summer cookout. Tune in next time for simple side #3 (Hint: it is a BBQ favorite that I will make … wait for it … without mayo!!!)

No Mayo Coleslaw, serves 8-10

  • 1 small head of cabbage, shredded
  • Half a bunch of green onions, chopped
  • 1 (6 oz.) package of crumbled feta cheese
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon kosher salt and 1/2 teaspoon reserved
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon Italian seasoning

Mix the shredded cabbage with 1 tablespoon of kosher salt. Let the cabbage drain in a colander for 1-1.5 hours and rinse well with cold water. Meanwhile whisk together the olive oil, vinegar, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning. In a medium bowl combine the cabbage, green onions, feta, and dressing. Refrigerate until ready to serve. Great to make ahead of time; even better the next day after it’s absorbed the flavors.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Vy Nguyen says:

    whenever I get hungry now I go to your website and it makes me even more hungry!

    1. I have that same problem with other blogs! Hope you have a good trip to SD; maybe next time we’ll get to meet up!

Leave a Reply

