Fig and Prosciutto Flatbread

Ok, so I know it’s been a while. A long while. But I have an excuse! I moved. And not down the street … I drove 1,367 miles (with a trailer and 2 dogs) all the way over to San Diego! Way back in the day I mentioned that I was studying for a little test called the LSAT. Well before I knew it, I started law school, and almost two months have gone by now. And let me tell you something, I have never studied so much in my life. At the same time, I have never lived in a more amazing place. For instance, not only  can I see the beach from my home, I also have lemon, lime, and fig trees in my front yard. Know what else? I have parrots. Yeah, parrots. Crazy! Let’s go back to the figs though …

Figs are kinda funny. What do you make with them? Fig Newtons? Yuck. Fig and prosciutto flatbread with goat cheese? Yes, please! I think by this time you all know I love prosciutto. A little over a year ago I started my blog with this delicious sandwich, so in a way I feel like this recipe brings everything full circle. Not that I intend to stop writing, but it may be more sporadic now that I am concentrating on torts (not the pastry type). But I would like to sincerely thank everyone for supporting me while I have been blogging. It has been a blast for me and I love hearing back from you all! Maybe one day there will be an area for food-blog law (not to be confused with “Bob Loblaw Law Blog“). In the meantime I’ll still be cooking and hope you will be too!

Fig and Prosciutto Flatbread, adapted from Smitten Kitchen

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon table salt
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 lb thinly sliced prosciutto
  • 4 oz. goat cheese
  • 4 figs, thinly sliced
  • 1/3 cup balsamic vinegar

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees with a pizza stone or heavy baking sheet on the middle rack. In a medium bowl whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt. Make a well in the center and gradually add water and oil, stirring them into the flour with a wooden spoon until a ball forms. Knead dough gently on a work surface 4 or 5 times.

Divide dough into 4 pieces and roll out 1 piece on a sheet of parchment paper into a long irregular shape. The dough should be rolled paper thin. Slide the dough and parchment paper together onto the preheated baking stone or sheet, and bake about 5 minutes, until lightly golden. Repeat with the remaining dough.

Meanwhile, in a small saucepan bring the balsamic vinegar to a boil. Reduce the heat and let simmer for 7-10 minutes. The vinegar will reduce to a caramel-like consistency, but watch carefully so it does not burn. Once the flatbreads are ready, break them into smaller pieces. Spread goat cheese on each piece and top with prosciutto and fig slices. Drizzle with with the reduced balsamic vinegar and enjoy!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Adele says:

    This looks amazingly yummy.
    Adele

  2. Betty says:

    The “Fig Newtons” of Houston (Betty, Stephen, Elizabeth and Camille) love this!
    We are all glad that every thing is well in Southern California . . . what a divine place!
    XXXX

  3. Many thanks to my wonderful family! I think you are all my biggest fan base 🙂

  4. Michelle says:

    Just incase you were wondering, since your big move, your fan base has grown!!! Unfortunately, because I too am studying torts, I don’t have time to attempt to cook for myself. I guess I’ll just have to sneak over and eat whatever’s cookin’ at your place. 🙂

    -BigMac

  5. laura says:

    this sounds fantastic johnny – keep on cookin’!

Leave a Reply

