Torta di Frittate

05It has been brought to my attention that for being a lover of breakfast, I have seriously underrepresented my favorite meal of the day. My friend David aptly mentioned this to me, since he and I share a fondness for all things breakfast. Shortly after I moved to California I met David, who informed me that San Diego is “breakfast-town.” Skeptical of this stranger’s claim, I told him to prove it. Ever since then, we have been trying different breakfast, not brunch, restaurants in town. Recently an article was published naming the iconic diners in the city, and I am proud to say that we have been to half of them together for breakfast in addition to many other delicious restaurants. After two years of waking up early on the weekends, I can tell you that San Diego is serious about breakfast.

01This brings me to today’s recipe – torta di frittate or frittata cake. Last year for David’s birthday I made him breakfast, so this year I decided to continue the tradition and blog about what I made. I wanted to make some sort of egg dish, and when I found an egg recipe that described itself as a cake, I thought, “What could be better than a breakfast egg birthday cake?” Especially when it has Fontina cheese, roasted eggplant, Parmesan cheese, roasted red bell pepper, and MORE Fontina cheese. As if that wasn’t enough, I topped it with some spicy arugula pesto. Yeah, I went there.

09So if you are not excited by the same old birthday cake every year or if you just feel like making a special breakfast, this recipe is a piece of a cake (sorry I couldn’t help myself). You can substitute the ingredients with anything you have on hand, like potatoes, onions, or cheddar cheese. And as with all recipes, this frittata is best enjoyed in the company of good friends. Thanks for putting up with the picture-taking David and Taylor!

08Torta di Frittate, serves 6

  • 6 eggs
  • Half of a medium eggplant, sliced
  • 1 large red bell pepper
  • 3 1/2 ounces Fontina cheese, sliced
  • 1 tablespoon flat-leaf parsley, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon Parmesan cheese, finely grated
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • Olive oil
  • Salt & pepper

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and turn on the broiler. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and broil the eggplant slices until soft and golden. Meanwhile roast the bell pepper in the oven or directly on a burner until blackened and charred. Transfer the pepper to a plastic bag, seal the bag, and let cool. When cool enough to handle, peel and seed the pepper. Cut the pepper into strips and set aside with the eggplant. Increase the oven temperature to 475 degrees.

Beat two eggs in one bowl and two eggs in another bowl. Season both with salt and pepper and divide the parsley between them. Beat the remaining two eggs in a third bowl. Season with salt and pepper and stir in the Parmesan cheese. Heat the butter and a little olive oil in a medium skillet. Pour in one bowl of the egg and parsley mixture and cook until set on one side, but still a little runny on the other. Slide the frittata out of the skillet and cook two more using the remaining egg mixtures.

Line a cake pan with parchment paper and place one of the parsley frittatas, soft side up, in it. Cover with the eggplant and half of the Fontina. Place the Parmesan frittata on top, soft side up, and cover with bell pepper strips and the remaining Fontina cheese. Finally, place the second parsley frittata on top, soft side down. Bake for 10 minutes. Serve hot or cold with spicy arugula pesto. I made this recipe, but left out the Asiago cheese.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Susan Lowry says:

    This looks AWESOME! I love breakfast at night!

    Date: Fri, 26 Jul 2013 13:56:27 +0000 To: afacetintime@msn.com

    1. Thanks Aunt Susie. I love breakfast all times of the day 🙂 Miss and love you!

  2. Taylor says:

    I will put up with picture taking any day for something this yummy! This plus “tastes like home” popovers were def one of the best breakfasts I’ve had in a while!

    1. Now that I have a popover tin we can make Neiman’s popovers all the time! Just need to find a recipe for spiced tea…

  3. Dis says:

    This was so incredibly delicious.

    1. Hooray! Happy birthday again!

  4. Adele Bentsen says:

    Always love your recipes and reading your blog.!!! Adele

    1. Thanks so much Adele. Miss seeing you!

  5. This looks amazing! So glad to find your blog – such gorgeous pictures and everything looks amazing!!

  6. P.S. – we should definitely go down to Little Italy for some gelato or cannoli while you’re here!

    1. I can always be talked into going to Little Italy 🙂 I’m excited to see what you blog about your trip to Italy. Thanks for the kind words. Glad to have met another foodie on the floor!

Leave a Reply

