Strawberry Limoncello Popsicles

01I can’t believe summer is coming to an end. It seems like it just began, but everything around me suggests otherwise. Football is starting up, shops are advertising “back to school” deals, and some people are already planning their Halloween costumes (yes, I’m talking about you Michelle). Who really wants to think about buying sweaters during the hottest part of the summer? I say, embrace these last weeks and do something quintessentially summer – make popsicles!

02When I was deciding what flavor to make my popsicles, I thought about my first trip to Europe. I went on D. Smith’s famous senior class trip after graduating high school, and I think I ate gelato every day I was in Italy. During that trip, my long-time best friend Ashley introduced me to the amazing combination of strawberry and lemon gelato. I knew those flavors would be perfect in a popsicle. Then I thought about when I studied abroad in college, and I couldn’t help but think about when my roommates and I went on a limoncello sampling spree up and down the streets of Sorrento. That’s when the light bulb in my head went off – strawberry and limoncello popsicles!

03Limoncello is an Italian lemon liqueur, originating from Southern Italy. It is traditionally served chilled as an after dinner drink, but it is also especially delicious over vanilla ice cream. Thus, I decided to incorporate the limoncello with a creamy Greek yogurt mixture for the popsicles. I also cooked the strawberries in a little limoncello to tie everything together. I bought my limoncello from my favorite Italian grocery store, but it is also available at Trader Joe’s. If you are feeling especially motivated, you can even make it yourself. You won’t regret having a little extra around!

Strawberry Limoncello Popsicles, makes 10 popsicles*

  • 2 cups strawberries, sliced
  • 2/3 cup sugar, divided in half
  • 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/2 cup half & half
  • 1 cup Greek yogurt
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 4 tablespoons limoncello

*Special thanks to my friend Shradha for loaning me this nifty popsicle mold.

Place lemon juice and 1/3 cup sugar into a small saucepan. Cook on medium-low heat until the sugar begins to dissolve. Gradually whisk in the heavy whipping cream and half & half. Remove from heat and add 2 tablespoons of limoncello. Let the cream mixture cool completely. Meanwhile, combine strawberries, 1/3 cup sugar, and 2 tablespoons of limoncello in another saucepan. Cook on medium heat until the strawberries are reduced (5-10 minutes). Remove from heat and let cool.

Once the cream mixture has cooled, whisk in the Greek yogurt. Alternating between the limoncello cream and the strawberry syrup, add the mixtures to the popsicle mold. In order to achieve a marbled effect, stick a skewer or something similar in the molds, slightly mixing the layers. Freeze for 8-10 hours. To remove the popsicles, carefully run the popsicle mold under warm water.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Betsy says:

    this is the most beautiful blog I have ever seen!!! I love keeping up with you this way, (and occasionally seeing those awesome colorful mixing bowls!)

    1. Those are my favorite mixing bowls 😉 I was just saying how I am WAY overdue to call you and hear about life in VA! Hopefully we can catch up soon. Love and miss you!

  2. Mfjohnson1209@gmail.com says:

    This sounds amazing!!!!

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

