Pan Bagnat

1I meant to post this recipe last August before school started, but I never got around to it. Eleven months later, it’s a new year and a lot has happened! I have spent time in Alabama, California, Colorado, Georgia, Nevada, Tennessee, and Texas. I’ve gone to a few weddings (congrats to my cousin Jenny & Bryant, my friends Sara & Shane, my sister Molly & Evan, and my cousin Will & Vanessa!) I sprained my ankle playing softball, dressed up as Cruella de Vil, said goodbye to Pops and two amazing dogs, adopted Java-the-cat, saw Britney Spears, played in the snow with my best friends, argued in front of the Ninth Circuit, and graduated from law school – just to name a few notable events …

My_year

Needless to say, it’s been kind of busy. Things are not going to slow down either. These next couple of months I am studying for the dreaded California Bar, and shortly thereafter I will re-enter the working world. All that said, I could not just leave the blog hanging. So I guess it was meant to be that I post this recipe now and update you all. I will not be posting as I usually do in the summer, but I hope to start back up in the fall. In the meantime, enjoy this delicious sandwich, perfect for a summer picnic on the beach. I will live vicariously through you while I study torts, not tortes, in the library.

2

Pan Bagnat, adapted from The New York Times, serves 3-4

Vinaigrette

  • 2 anchovy fillets, minced
  • 1 small garlic clove, minced
  • 1 teaspoon red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

Sandwich

  • 1 medium ciabatta, halved
  • 1/2 cucumber, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 red onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 medium heirloom tomato, sliced
  • 1 can (5-6 ounces) tuna packed in olive oil, drained
  • 8 large basil leaves
  • 1/4 cup mixed pitted olives, sliced
  • 1 hard-boiled egg, sliced

In a small bowl, whisk together the anchovies, garlic, vinegar, mustard, salt, and pepper. Slowly drizzle in oil, whisking constantly. Add the sliced cucumber and onion to the vinaigrette and toss well. Let sit for a few minutes before building the sandwich.

3

Spread half of the cucumber-onion mixture on the bottom ciabatta slice. Top with tomato, then with tuna, basil, olives, and egg slices. Top egg with remaining cucumber-onion mixture and vinaigrette. Cover with top ciabatta half and firmly press sandwich together.

4

Wrap sandwich tightly in multiple layers of plastic wrap. Put sandwich under a weight such as a cast-iron frying pan, brick, or, in my case, the heaviest books around. This step is key and where the sandwich gets its name. Pan bagnat is French for “bathed bread” as the oil and vinegar “bathe” the bread when weighted down. Weight sandwich for 7 to 10 minutes, then flip and weight it for another 7 to 10 minutes. Unwrap, slice and serve immediately, or keep it wrapped for up to 8 hours before serving.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. nathandean says:

    Looks awesome Carrie! I’ll have to try it out really soon. Congratulations on completing law school.

    1. Thanks Nathan! Let me know if you try it and how it turns out. Hope you and your family are doing well!

Leave a Reply

