Sedano Alle Noci

1Well,  I made it to the other side. I took the California Bar. Now, I am back to work, but thankfully I had a little break. And what better way to decompress from a summer of studying than a girls trip to Napa Valley and San Francisco? Great friends, food, and wine are the perfect remedy for whatever ails you. I came home refreshed and ready to start cooking! Inspiration for the blog was all around during my vacation. We ate at amazing restaurants (Calistoga Inn, Gotts Roadside, Nopalito, Chino) and enjoyed tastings at beautiful vineyards (Hall Wines, Twomey Cellars, T-Vine Cellars, Envy Wines). One of my favorite stops, however, was to a little olive oil shop in downtown Calistoga. I am a sucker for good olive oil, so I bought a bottle knowing I wanted to use it for this recipe.

2I found this recipe, translated as celery and walnut salad, while browsing The Silver Spoon for ideas. It sounded interesting, but after a quick glance, I flipped past it. I mean, come on, the main ingredient is celery. It is not the sexiest vegetable. We all buy it to use a few stalks for tuna salad or to make chicken stock. Then the rest sits sadly unused in the refrigerator until it is inevitably tossed in the trash. Still, something told me not to discount this simple salad. As the saying goes, keep it simple stupid. Let the ingredients shine. With my new olive oil in hand, I was ready to take a chance. The result was awesome – way better than ants on a log.

4The celery is bright and crunchy. Toasted walnuts add a warm earthiness. A diced green apple provides a little sweetness, while Parmesan cheese keeps the salad savory. And the simple dressing of lemon juice and olive oil ties everything together. My favorite chicken piccata recipe nicely complimented the salad with a chilled glass of pinot grigio. I think it would also be a great side at your next cookout. The celery loses a bit of its crunch the next day, so I would suggest sharing it or cutting the recipe in half. Or you could just eat it all by yourself. Honestly, I would have been perfectly happy doing that.

7

Sedano alle Noci, serves 4-6

  • 1 bunch of celery, trimmed
  • 1 green apple, cored and diced
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 1/4 lb Parmesan cheese, diced
  • 1 cup toasted walnuts*, chopped
  • 3 tablespoons fresh flat-leaf parsley, roughly chopped
  • 5 tablespoons good olive oil
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper

*To toast the walnuts, heat the oven to 350 degrees. Arrange the walnuts on a cookie sheet in a single layer. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes, checking frequently.

Halve the celery stalks lengthwise and cut into thin strips. Reserve the leaves and roughly chop. Place the celery and apple in a salad bowl and stir in half the lemon juice. Add the cheese, parsley, celery leaves, and half the walnuts. Whisk together the olive oil and remaining lemon juice in a separate bowl and season with salt and pepper. Pour the dressing over the salad and toss in the remaining walnuts.

8

4 thoughts on “Sedano Alle Noci

Leave a Reply

