Grilled Corn Salad

salad_smSchool has started (without me!) and summer is winding down. But that doesn’t mean that I have stopped learning or that I can’t take advantage of summer’s best fare. Grilled corn always makes me think of summer. While watching the Food Network on the elliptical–counter-intuitive, I know–I saw a recipe for a corn and scallion salad with cilantro, mint dressing. I wanted to make an Italian version of the salad, and a Labor Day BBQ with my new co-workers was the perfect opportunity. Luckily I have a friend who also loves grilled corn and was able to share a few grilling tricks with me. So for the day, Cucina di Carrie becomes Cucina di Carey.

beforethegrillLesson #1: How to clean a dirty grill. I am ashamed to say that I am not sure if I have ever cleaned my little grill prior to this BBQ. Carey took one look at it and suggested it was time. I am sure I gave some lame response like, “I don’t have the tools to clean it.” But to my surprise, I actually did. Carey informed me that all I needed was some aluminum foil. I took a few sheets of foil, crumpled them into a ball, and rubbed it over the grates. Magically, all the baked-on gradoo was gone. Here is a more thorough step-by-step guide, but for a quick clean-up Carey’s method was perfect. After only a few minutes, we were ready to fire up the grill!

grillLesson #2: How to grill corn without tongs. Does anyone else keep the rubber bands that are always around vegetables? I have become somewhat of a hoarder of such rubber bands, and most of them go unused. However, it turns out that they are perfect to bind corn husks together, making a convenient handle for grilling. All you need to do is pull back the husks, remove the silk threads, and wrap a rubber band around the husks. Then the corn is free to season and grill. Just be careful to keep the rubber bands off the grates so they don’t melt.

corn_cutter2Lesson #3: How to easily remove corn from the cob. I know I am not the only person who has struggled cutting corn off the cob with a knife. It is a messy ordeal and it is hard to cut off whole kernels. This handy corn-cutter, or corn zipper, makes this process much easier. The blade is pretty sharp, so keep your fingers out of the way and hold on to the husk. Admission: I may or may not have sliced a finger (that is why there are not pictures of me doing this). Here’s another tip for y’all: make sure the coals aren’t still burning when you toss them in the dumpster. Otherwise your neighbors will have to pour water on the trash to make sure our homes don’t burn down. Not that I know anything about that…

salad2

Grilled Corn Salad, serves 6-8

Salad

  • 6 large ears of corn
  • Canola or sunflower oil for brushing
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1 pint cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 7 ounces bocconcini mozzarella, halved
  • 1/2 package baby arugula (approx. 3 ounces)

Vinaigrette

  • 1/4 cup fresh basil leaves
  • 1/4 cup fresh mint leaves
  • 1/4 cup fresh flat parsley leaves
  • 1/4 cup white wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons honey
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper

Preheat the grill to medium-high. Pull the corn husks back and remove the silk threads. Wrap a rubber band around the husks. Lightly brush the corn with oil. Season with salt and pepper.

While the grill is heating, combine the basil, mint, parsley, vinegar, honey, and some salt and pepper in a blender. Blend until smooth, slowly adding the olive oil until emulsified. Taste and season as desired. Set aside for later use.

Grill the corn, covered, until charred on all sides and the corn is tender, 2 to 3 minutes per side. Cool slightly and remove the kernels from the cobs. Combine the corn, tomatoes, mozzarella, and arugula in a large bowl. Add a spoonful of the vinaigrette at a time and toss to lightly coat. You will have quite a bit of the dressing leftover, but it is delicious on any salad!

Leave a Reply

