Mozzarella Meatballs

ballsLet me just get this out of the way at the outset. It is going to be very difficult for me not to be “punny” in this post. It doesn’t help that the 40th anniversary of Saturday Night Live just aired, reminding me of this clip. I also have a friend who helped me make various versions of this recipe while repeatedly cracking jokes. All that said, my mouth’s watering just thinking about these balls… sorry I couldn’t help myself. Whatever gets me posting more often, right?

tableIn all seriousness, these are pretty amazeballs (you can thank Paris Hilton for that term). I adapted a Todd English recipe that can you find in this cookbook. As soon as I saw the meatballs were stuffed with mozzarella, I was in. I mean, everything is better with cheese. Usually I am happy with just pasta and sauce. These meatballs really steal the show though. Luckily this recipe makes quite a few. They are perfect to make for a dinner party with friends (thanks Ken, Christy, Carey, and David for joining me!). If there are any extra, you can always share with a certain lady or tramp.

mixMozzarella Meatballs, makes 25 meatballs

  • 1 cup finely chopped yellow onion
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 lb. ground beef
  • 1 lb. ground pork
  • 3 cups soft, fresh breadcrumbs (I used a baguette)
  • 1/2 cup fresh Italian parsley, chopped
  • 3 tablespoons fresh oregano, chopped
  • 1 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 8 ounces mozzarella cheese, cut into 25 1-inch cubes

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Heat olive oil in a medium pan over medium-high heat. Cook onion and garlic, stirring often, for 7 minutes or until translucent. Transfer to a large bowl and let cool completely. Add the remaining ingredients, except the mozzarella, to the bowl and mix well.

Shape each meatball around one mozzarella cube. One meatball should be a little bigger than a golf ball. Place stuffed meatballs on a lightly greased rack on top of a baking sheet. Bake for 25 minutes. Serve on top of spaghetti with my favorite tomato sauce.

spaghetti2

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Mfjohnson1209@gmail.com says:

    These look amazing!!!!!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Steve says:

    These look great! Make some the next time you are in Dallas.

  3. Yeah Baby, You Know Who This Is says:

    Those are large juicy balls. Can’t wait to get my mouth around them.

    1. I really hope this is sweet-Pete, and not some creepy guy named Pete. I guess I deserve this comment either way.

Leave a Reply

